Life Changing Decisions

Hey lovelies,

I just wanted to update you on some HUGE decisions I’ve made in the past week that will have a huge effect on my future. None of them come into play immediately, however I’ve already started saving and doing research because….

I’ve decided to teach in Japan once I’ve finished my degree!!

 

I’ve always planned on travelling after I finished my degree, but had thought I would teach overseas after a building up a few years experience in Australia. The other night though I realised that a number of my friends had been accepted by programs to teach abroad and thought why not. Why keep pushing off my dreams when they’re within reach earlier. Why risk becoming complacent and set in my ways and never travelling instead of just doing it now. Get out of my comfort zone, force myself to do what I want to do.

 

I’m pretty terrified about this decision but I am so excited too. Since I made the decision I’ve been incessantly research and watching youtube videos about Japan and teaching in Japan. I still have a year and a half before I complete my degree, so I’ll begin applying to different programs like JET during that last half year. There are high levels of competition for these overseas jobs, but I have a really good record at uni (averaging at a distinction grade – which i plan to improve) and am really enthusiastic (and honestly pretty attractive as well :’D) so fingers crossed!!

 

The other big thing that may come with this decision, is my boyfriend is thinking of moving there with me. Yes you heard that right! He’s thinking that we should move in together in Japan!!! EEEEeeehhhhhh!!! I love that we’re thinking of moving forward together and making plans for almost 2 years in the future 🙂 God I love this man

Okay, so now to the less exciting news hahaha

I’m going to be picking up a monday ‘flex’ class at the same place I do silks (because it has the same teachers). This will mean that even before the first month of the year is out I will be moving towards one of my resolutions, go me!

I will also be picking up Japanese as a hobby with both my boyfriend and my best friend (who’s already told me she’s super jealous since she’s always wanted to go to Japan). This means that at least 3 times a week I should be able to practice and try to learn Japanese. I can’t afford real lessons unfortunately, but I will be getting some super cheap language and country guides thanks to working in a bookstore haha!

In other notes, I had to replace my tires this week, $540 AUD 😥 but I also got new windscreen wipers from my dad AND am currently typing this from my mum’s house. I’m spending a week with my mum and her husband and it’s super relaxing. We’re mainly just watching movies and TV and having lazy meals (I’m ignoring all food rules and eating whatever the heck I want currently).

So yeah, that’s pretty much me for now, but I just wanted to let you all know some of these HUGE developments in my life. Let me know in the comments if you’ve been to Japan and have any advice for me 🙂

cya later lovelies 🙂
Xx

R

4 thoughts on “Life Changing Decisions

  1. Liz says:

    Wow that is totally amazing!!! I can’t imagine how excited you must be to actually move to Japan. All your hard work will pay off 🙂 And the fact that you won’t have to label your boyfriend behind just makes it a dream come true. I hope you can make all this happen in no time! P.S. we’re both only 1.5 year from graduating only it’s so much harder to find a job here in America 😢💔 no one wants to hire college graduates here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • MyPersonalStruggles says:

      I don’t know if you do placements or anything with your degree but I’ll have 4 or so 20 day school placements by the time I graduate where I’ve been the main teacher (with back up of course) for 4-5 classes for 4 weeks. This involves planning, assessing, reporting and even other teacher duties such as meetings and lunch duty. So by the time I’ve graduated I’ve got some references and experience ready to go already.
      I am planning on going through a program which specializes in new graduates though 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Liz says:

        Ahh okay. My school does provide students with internships based on their major but they are really hard to get in especially if you’re not getting paid and have to go to your actual job to help pay for school. It sucks here tbh :/ good luck with you program 🙂

        Like

  2. littleanalucie says:

    Yoo! That’s awesome and all good news ❤ I speak Japanese and have been before so if you ever want to chat about that! I'm game. Good luck and much love to you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

