Tips and Tricks to Eating Less

WARNING: THESE TIPS ARE ONES THAT I’VE FOUND USEFUL FROM MY OWN PERSONAL EXPERIENCE. THEY HAVE NOT BEEN APPROVED BY A DOCTOR, NOR WILL THEY. PLEASE USE YOUR OWN DISCRETION AS THERE ARE SOME CRAZY DANGEROUS WEIGHT LOSS TIPS ONLINE.

Thanks! 🙂

 

  • Drink loads of water/zero cal drinks. Drinking will help you to feel fuller as well as keep you hydrated. Personally I love green tea (the warmth helps you to feel fuller for longer) and Sprite Zero.
  • If you’re craving something something shocking, try and find a low cal version that will satiate your desires. For instance I often crave carbs, so I’ll have rice cakes instead of bread, or flavoured rice cakes instead of chips, apple and peanut butter instead of peanut butter toast etc.
  • If you can’t resist your craving, allow yourself to have a small amount of them, but then move away/make it impossible to have the rest. I like to grab a small meal and have it in the bath. This means I can’t go back for seconds.
  • Distractions, distractions, distractions. Don’t just sit around wallowing in your hunger. Get up and do something. Take a bath, paint your nails, catch up with a friend in a no-food environment.
  • Throw away all your binge trigger foods. If it’s not there, you can’t binge!
  • Have a cheat day. This seems backwards but not allowing yourself to ever enjoy your food will likely end up with you binging and feeling terrible (trust me, I know from personal experience). Make sure it’s a day that you’ll be with people for double the fun.
  • Make lists of ‘safe’ and ‘banned’ foods, but also have a few treat foods so you can still deal with cravings. One of my ‘treat’ foods is salt and vinegar chips, because no matter what I can’t shake that craving, so instead I control my portions.
  • Consider food intolerances or dietary choices such as gluten free, lactose free, vegetarian or vegan. I’m lactose intolerant (really) which means that I immediately have an excuse to skip the icecream or milkshake that everyone else is getting.
  • Skipping meals can lead to ultra-binge sessions, so try to have smaller meals or snacks instead of meals. I’m terrible at this one, as I almost always skip breakfast, but I try to have small snacks to make up for it. Carrot sticks, apple slices, a few sweets to tide you over till your next ‘meal’.
  • Since I live at home I almost always try to save my daily calories for dinner, as this is often the one meal I share with others.
  • Talk a lot and play with your food so that no one knows exactly how much you’re eating. This is also useful if you have a lot of teeny tiny bites.
  • Sleep as much as you can! Lower calorie intake = less energy for your body. Make sure you’re getting the right amount of sleep whenever you possibly can.
  • If you, like me, are still studying, allow yourself controlled increases around exam/assessment time to ensure that your brain is getting what it needs to function at it’s best. Studying on zero cals isn’t your best option.
  • If you have a bad day, remind yourself that yes it sucks, but it’s just a little step back in your journey. Pick yourself back up, forgive yourself, and then refocus on your goals.
  • Start blogging! It keeps you honest and you may even find friends who inspire you to keep going.
  • Thinspo is your friend. Find someone with a body that you adore and plaster them everywhere, in your wallet, phone, laptop, bedroom etc. This will be motivation to stay focused.
  • Don’t carry money around with you for food, as this will only encourage you to buy it.
  • If you know you have an event where you’ll be expected to eat, plan appropriately. Use the rest of your day to balance that meal out.
  • Research where you’ll be eating beforehand. Most places have their menus online now, which means you can decide on the meal you want before you go, meaning less stress!
  • If you’ve got thinspo friends IRL, hang out with them! What’s better then seeing your goals in reality to kickstart your motivation 🙂
  • MULTIVITAMINS!

 

Let me know if you have any other tips or tricks that you use! They might help me out too haha 😀

Stay safe and reach out if you need help ❤

Xx

R

One thought on “Tips and Tricks to Eating Less

Leave a Reply

