Trying Vegetarianism

Title kind of gives today’s topic away but I’ve decided to try being vegetarian!! I have a load of friends who are vegetarian/vegan, for various reasons, and honestly their arguments make sense to me. Other than being unsustainable, bad for out environment and cruel, I also noticed that meat is one of the two main contributors to my calorie intake (the other being my insatiable lust for everything potato :/ ).

So instead of focusing a meal around meat, I’m going to use healthier alternatives. This is also an opportunity to force myself to try new foods, or try to use foods I thought I hated (like mushrooms and bananas).

However there is another aspect of this too, I’m reducing the amount of lactose and gluten I eat as well. My family has a history of both coeliac disease (intolerance to gluten which damages the lining of the intestines) and being lactose intolerant, and I have noticed recently that my insides haven’t always agreed with what I have been eating. I have a feeling this is more to do with the lactose than anything else, which is why I have already switched to soy milk (which is delicious!) and have avoided things like ice cream and milk shakes.

 

So yeah, I’ve decided to give this a shot, it may not last and that ok, but in the meantime I am enjoying making healthier meals for myself (aka lower calorie) without having to be sneaky about it. This also makes it easier to refuse food, ‘oh I can’t sorry I’m vegetarian/GF/lactose intolerant’, and means I have to order the lower cal options if I am out with friends. Win win!

Ps. I really want to try nice cream! Made mostly from blended frozen bananas and whatever flavouring you want (i.e. cacao powder for chocolate nice cream, frozen mango, strawberries, blueberries or coconut). Looks amazing, is healthier and way less cals than actual ice cream! Plus no lactose/gluten 😀

 

Later lovelies!
Xx
R

4 thoughts on “Trying Vegetarianism

  1. Liz says:

    Good luck Hun 🙂 I usually eat vegetarian and it’s pretty awesome in terms of calories. You eat way less calories and fat. I really only eat meat when I can’t get out of my parents buying fast food or something like that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

